Norwich. Horoscopes.

Situated extremely close to the bench in my previous Norwich post, even more of a bench bounty! Horoscope benches?!

I guess if you need to install a number of benches, it actually IS extremely cute to give each of them a theme, and if that number is 12, then why not horoscopes? Still, it’s suitably weird that it made me do a double take.

I am a big fan of the chunky, bubbly construction of these benches. I guess what intrigues me is that they’re just about drab enough to convince me they’re just someone at the council getting a bit creative, but just about weird enough to make me wonder if this was someone doing an Official Art. I could not find any plaque indicating such though, so I’ll assume the former.

Though these benches have no back, I still find them pleasingly comfortable. They are deep and wide and relatively low to the ground, and their bulbous ends provide some arm rest for those near them (or a head rest for those who might want to recline.

As an added bonus, there is a Barbara Hepworth sculpture to admire while seated!

Comfort of bench: 6/10
Capacity of bench: 4 people per bench (x 12!)
View from bench: 7/10, nice nature, river, and a cool sculpture!
Accessibility of bench: Good — some cracked/uneven paving in the area but broadly fine.
Adventure level: Right in the centre of Norwich, easy to get to and find. Adventure level low.

Leave a comment