Brighton. For those who want to be alone. ish.

I’ve seen a few of these popping up around Brighton (this particular example in Palmeira Square), and I am intrigued.

IMG_5397

I mean really, what is up with the whole little bench thing? It’s kind of nice I guess, but size wise it seems just slightly too small for two people, but too big to cosily encase one person. Or maybe that’s the point?

Anyway, I don’t have a huge amount to say about these benches, as other than this they’re fairly standard Brighton council park variety (albeit with these new rubbery plastic slats rather than wood).

One thing I have wondered (answers on a postcard). When benches with memorial plaques get old and broken, and replaced with new ones, do they put the old memorial plaque back on, or take it as a chance for someone new to have a bench? I guess it must be the latter but that does seem kind of sad to me — benches slowly dying as once did their memorialized human, ultimately to be removed and forgotten. Ho hum.

Comfort of bench: 7/10
Capacity of bench: WELL. 4 people on the standard bench. Can you fit two on the small one? Someone needs to come with me and try sometime.
View from bench: Like I say, these are all over Brighton, so it varies.
Accessibility of bench: Varies.
Adventure level: Well, they’re in various places, but all in Brighton, so low. 2/10.

Leave a Reply

