Torquay. High enough to swing your legs from.

This is the bench that started it all. The moment I sat on this bench I said ‘oh my goodness I should write a blog about great benches and this can be the first one!’

Maybe it was because I was really tired that I felt such a strong connection with the bench. I had just climbed a fairly big hill, and been walking around all day. But still, I think this bench is worthy of mention on it’s own merits, rather than just my physical and emotional state when I encountered it.

It’s actually two benches. Two benches high enough that, when sitting on them, you can swing your legs. (If you’re about 5′ 6″ like me.)

IMG_7811

It’s two benches sat in a nice little walled enclave, with their own mini-lawn behind, shaded by trees.

It’s two benches right by shops where you can get sweets and fizzy pop to sit on the benches and eat. (If I remember correctly there’s a pretty good chip shop just up the road too, and this would be an excellent place to consume those chips)

The benches themselves are fairly standard council fare, but I do quite like that style of pebbly concrete supports and classic dark wood.

The only possible downsides are that they’re right by a road (but this is also useful), and that they’re under a tree which means a greater likelihood of bird poop incidents. (But also a certain amount of shade from rain, so swings and roundabouts.)

Comfort of bench: 7/10
Capacity of bench: I reckon you could fit 10 people along the two of them
View from bench: Unremarkable, but acceptable. 5/10
Accessibility of bench: Flat, smooth pavement, right next to lowered curb from zebra crossing. 9/10
Adventure level: Assuming you’ve adventured as far as Torquay already, these are around 10 – 15 minutes walk from the train station, so very low adventure in terms of finding them. 2/10

IMG_7805

Leave a Reply

